Skip to main content

Successful Academic Elections Held at College of Science, KNUST

Dean and Vice Deans Elect

In a decisive step towards enhancing academic leadership, the College of Science at Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (KNUST) conducted internal elections from August 29th to 30th, 2023. The primary objective of these elections was to fill various significant academic positions within the college.

The election process was initiated to fill three vital academic positions, which were previously vacant. These pivotal positions included:

Deanship of the Faculty of Biosciences (FBS), Vice-Deanship of the Faculty of Biosciences (FBS) and Vice-Deanship of the Faculty of Physical and Computational Science (FPCS)

In the lead-up to these elections, a distinguished list of candidates emerged as eligible contenders for the Faculty of Biosciences. This list included prominent academics such as Prof. Antonia Y. Tetteh, Prof. Hilary D. Zakpaa, Prof. Patrick Addo-Fordjour, Prof. John A. Larbi, Prof. Alexander K. Anning, Prof. Jonathan N. Hogarh, Prof. Isaac Williams Ofosu, Prof. Bernard Fei-Baffoe, Prof. Matthew Glover Addo, Prof. Caleb K. Firempong, Prof. Philip Antwi-Agyei, Prof. Reginald A. Annan, Prof. Faustina D. Wireko-Manu, Prof. Jacob K. Agbenorhevi, and Prof. Ebenezer J. D. Belford. This illustrious group of academics represented a formidable pool of expertise and leadership potential.

Following the meticulously conducted elections, the academic community celebrated the appointment of the new academic leaders. Prof. John A. Larbi, who had previously served as the Vice-Dean of the faculty, emerged as the successful candidate for the position of Dean for the Faculty of Biosciences (FBS). His exemplary dedication to the college and his vision for its future development made him a compelling choice for this crucial role.

Joining Prof. Larbi in academic leadership was Prof. Bernard Fei-Baffoe, who stepped into the Vice-Dean position with determination and fresh perspectives. Prof. Fei-Baffoe's appointment signified a promising era of innovation and academic excellence within the Faculty of Biosciences.

Additionally, Professor Nathaniel Owusu Boadi, a distinguished lecturer in the Department of Chemistry, emerged as the Vice-Dean for the Faculty of Physical and Computational Science (FPCS). His extensive academic background and dedication to advancing scientific education made him a standout choice for this significant position.

The College of Science extends its heartiest congratulations to Prof. John A. Larbi, Prof. Bernard Fei-Baffoe, and Prof. Nathaniel Owusu Boadi on their well-deserved appointments. Their achievements stand as a testament to their dedication to academic excellence and their vision for a brighter future within the college and the broader academic community.